BOGOS: Free Gift Bundle Upsell is the largest app in this category by review count. On 2026-09-04 its Shopify App Store listing showed 5.0 stars across 4,339 reviews, a Built for Shopify badge, and a listing date of December 2014. Nobody shops for an alternative to an app like that because it is bad. They shop because of the bill.
This page compares six apps against it. Every price, plan name and feature bullet below was read from each app's own public listing on 2026-09-04. One of the six is ours, and it says so.
Why merchants look past BOGOS
The reason is almost always the pricing shape, and the listing states it plainly.
Plans are keyed to your Shopify plan. The $29.99 Basic plan says "Only for Shopify Basic stores". The $49.99 Grow plan is for Grow, Shopify and Professional stores, with "$69.99 for Advanced/Unlimited shops with 1000 free orders". The $109.99 Plus plan says "Only for Shopify Plus stores". So the same feature set costs you more when Shopify moves you up, and the upgrade you did for shipping rates or staff accounts also raises this bill.
Every plan carries a monthly order allowance and an overage. Basic is "300 monthly free orders by BOGOS, $0.05 per extra". Grow is 600. Plus is 2,000. The arithmetic, using the listing's own numbers:
| Attributed orders that month | Basic ($29.99, 300 included) | Grow ($49.99, 600 included) | Plus ($109.99, 2,000 included) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 | $39.99 | $49.99 | $109.99 |
| 1,000 | $64.99 | $69.99 | $109.99 |
| 3,000 | $164.99 | $169.99 | $159.99 |
Those are not surprise fees; they are printed on the listing. But they mean your promotion app gets more expensive precisely in the months the promotion works, which is an uncomfortable incentive to design around.
The free plan is lifetime, not monthly. The Free plan bullet reads "30 free orders lifetime by BOGOS". Thirty attributed orders in total, then the plan ends. It is a trial with no clock rather than a tier you can sit on.
It is a wide app. Bundles, mix and match, volume discounts, frequently bought together, checkout upsell and an AI assistant all ship alongside the gift features. If you wanted a gift app and got a merchandising suite, the settings surface is larger than the job.
What BOGOS does well
Twelve years on the App Store and 4,339 reviews at 5.0 is a track record no app here matches, and the Built for Shopify badge is on the listing. The feature list is genuinely the broadest in this comparison: BOGO, Buy X Get Y, free gift with purchase, custom bundles, mix and match, volume discounts, frequently bought together, a progress bar and an announcement bar, all present on the Free plan. Paid plans add an AI assistant, a bundle builder, POS and mobile support, and multiplier gifts. The Plus plan adds checkout upsell, a Headless/Hydrogen API and priority support. The listing shows eight languages: English, French, Japanese, German, Spanish, Dutch, Italian and Simplified Chinese.
If you need bundles or a build-a-box as well as gifts, that combination is worth paying an order-based bill for, and most of the apps below will not replace it.
The six alternatives at a glance
Two tables, because thirteen columns do not fit on a phone. All prices are monthly, in USD.
Pricing
| App (developer) | Rating / reviews | Free plan | Paid from | Pricing model | Same price on Plus | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOGOS: Free Gift Bundle Upsell (BOGOS) | 5.0 / 4,339 | Yes, "30 free orders lifetime" | $29.99 | Keyed to your Shopify plan, plus monthly order caps at "$0.05 per extra" | No; Plus stores are on the $109.99 plan | 7 days |
| EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift (506) | 4.9 / 1,114 | No | $14.99 | Flat, by number of active rules; "No monthly order or revenue cap" | Prices do not vary by Shopify plan; the $49.99 plan is Plus-only | 5 days |
| Kite Discount, Free Gift, BOGO (Skai Lama) | 4.9 / 1,151 | Yes, "first 50 discount orders free each month" | $29 | Flat tiers; the free tier is "$29/mo billed only if you go over 50 orders" | Prices do not vary by Shopify plan; checkout gift additions are Plus-only on Pro | 7 days |
| Monk Free Gift BOGO & Upsell (Monk Commerce) | 4.9 / 587 | Dev and sandbox stores only | $1 first month on the listing promo; monkcommerce.com/pricing shows $49 and $149 | Flat, banded by monthly order volume (0-1,000 and 1,000+) | Not stated on listing | 7 days |
| BOGO+ Free Gift & Buy X Get Y (WizzCommerce) | 4.7 / 186 | Yes, "$500 monthly revenue cap generated by app" | $17.99 | Keyed to your Shopify plan | No; the Shopify Plus tier is $77.99 | Not stated on listing |
| Gift Box, Free Gift Purchase (Digismoothie) | 4.9 / 224 | Trial and development stores only | $29.99 | Flat, banded by monthly online store orders (0-100, 101-500, 501-1,000) | Not stated on listing | 3 days |
| VLTRX Gift with Purchase BOGO (Valotrix Studio, that is us) | 5.0 / 1 | Yes: 1 campaign, 1 rule, progress bar | $24 | Flat, no order caps, no per-order fees | Yes | 7 days on paid plans |
Features
| App | Tiered rewards | Customer picks the gift | Progress bar | Per-market or per-currency thresholds | Preview or simulator | API / webhooks |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOGOS | Not stated in the plan bullets | Not stated on listing | Yes, on the Free plan | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | "Headless/Hydrogen API" on the $109.99 Plus plan |
| EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift | Not stated on listing | Yes, "auto-add the reward or show a popup" | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Kite | Yes, "tiered discounts" on the free tier | Not stated on listing | Yes, "progress bars" from $29 | "Market/cart targeting" from $29; per-currency thresholds not stated | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Monk | Yes, "tiered progress bars" | Not stated on listing | Yes | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| BOGO+ | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Yes, "Progress Bar" | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Gift Box | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Multi-language via Shopify Translate; thresholds per currency not stated | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Valotrix Cart Rewards (ours) | Yes, from Growth | Yes, gift-choice popup on Pro | Yes, on the Free plan | Yes | Yes, simulator plus live-store preview | Yes, on Scale |
"Not stated on listing" means the public listing did not say either way on 2026-09-04. It is not a claim that the feature is missing. Ask the developer before you rule an app in or out on one of those cells.
EasyGift: best if you want the lowest entry price
EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift by 506 has been listed since December 2019 and showed 4.9 across 1,114 reviews with the Built for Shopify badge. Standard is $14.99 and its bullets include "Trigger on cart subtotal or quantity", "Auto-add the reward or show a popup", scheduling, out-of-stock alerts, and per-rule order analytics with CSV export. Unlimited at $29.99 adds collection and product-tag triggers, combined triggers, "Target by tag, spend, history or B2B", geotargeting and magic-link rules.
The pricing contrast with BOGOS is the point: EasyGift's Standard bullet says "No monthly order or revenue cap", so the bill is the bill. Watch for: no free plan, a 5-day trial, and "Activate up to 3 rules at a time" on Standard. More detail in EasyGift alternatives.
Kite: best if you also send bulk discount codes
Kite by Skai Lama listed in June 2023 and showed 4.9 across 1,151 reviews. Its free tier covers the "first 50 discount orders free each month" and already includes free gift offers, Buy X Get Y, tiered discounts, shipping discounts, scheduling and customizable widgets. Starter at $29 adds progress bars, combined offers, market and cart targeting, and up to 10K bulk codes; Growth at $49 raises that to 100K codes with multiple rules per offer and campaign links; Pro at $99 adds custom discount functions, customer segment targeting, custom widgets and checkout gift additions marked Plus only.
Bulk code generation for email and SMS is real value that most gift apps, ours included, do not offer. Watch for: the free tier's own wording is "$29/mo billed only if you go over 50 orders". See Kite free gift alternatives for that comparison in full.
Monk: best if you want gifts, upsells and post-purchase in one place
Monk by Monk Commerce listed in July 2021 and showed 4.9 across 587 reviews. It runs offers from the product page through cart, checkout and post-checkout, and describes both tiers as "All features".
On the day we checked, the listing showed a Black Friday 2026 promotion of $1 for the first month rather than a standing price; monkcommerce.com/pricing showed $49/month for 0-1,000 total orders per month and $149/month above that. Watch for: the band is your store's total order count, not the app's attributed orders, so a busy store crosses it whether or not the gift campaign is running.
BOGO+: best if you want a very low paid entry with a free tier attached
BOGO+ by WizzCommerce listed in May 2022 and showed 4.7 across 186 reviews. The free plan allows "$500 monthly revenue cap generated by app" with unlimited campaign types, and paid plans start at $17.99 with free gift with purchase, volume discounts, BOGO, Buy X Get Y, a progress bar, goal order discounts and POS compatibility.
Watch for: plans are keyed to your Shopify plan the same way BOGOS does it, so Plus stores pay $77.99 for the same list, and the listing did not state a trial length.
Gift Box: best if you want the simplest possible setup
Gift Box by Digismoothie listed in April 2019 and showed 4.9 across 224 reviews. It is deliberately narrow: gift rules like "Spend X" or "Buy X Get Y", auto-add to cart, four gift offer types, mobile-friendly widgets and multi-language support through Shopify Translate. Plans are $29.99 for 0-100 online store orders a month, $49.99 for 101-500 and $79.99 for 501-1,000, each with a 3-day trial and a 60-day money-back guarantee.
Watch for: like Monk, the band counts your whole store's orders, and there is no free plan for a live store.
Valotrix Cart Rewards (that is us): best if you want the bill to stay still
We are listed as VLTRX Gift with Purchase BOGO by Valotrix Studio SRL. Plans are Free, Growth $24, Pro $49 and Scale $99. That is the whole price list. It does not change when Shopify moves you to Advanced or to Plus, there is no monthly order allowance to run out of, and there is no per-order fee, so a campaign that doubles in volume in November costs the same as it did in September. What that means on your invoice is written up in plans, billing and cancellation.
The Free plan runs a real campaign: one campaign, one rule, cart-value conditions, the cart progress bar and the visual simulator. Growth adds tiered rewards, product conditions, free-shipping rewards and on-site messages. Pro unlocks all 17 trigger conditions, the gift-choice popup, per-customer limits and customer and geo targeting. Scale adds A/B testing, CSV export, custom code, the public API and outbound webhooks.
The mechanics that matter for a switch: conditions combine with and, or and not rather than stacking as separate rules; thresholds can be set per currency and per market; the gift line is your real product variant discounted to zero at checkout by a Shopify Function, so no zero-price duplicate variants land in your catalog or your product feed. Our BOGO recipe shows the buy-one-get-one version of that, and Shopify BOGO without a discount code explains why we do it without codes at all.
Watch for: one review and a June 2026 listing date, and no Built for Shopify badge.
Where Valotrix Cart Rewards fits
Right for you if the order-based bill is what pushed you to this page, if you want gift rules that compose instead of multiply, if you sell across markets and want a threshold per currency, and if you want to test a rule against a sample cart before it goes live.
Not right for you if you need bundles or a build-a-box. Stay on BOGOS or add a dedicated bundle app; we do not do bundles, volume discounts, post-purchase upsells or loyalty points, and the comparison page in our docs is explicit about what we leave to other tools. Also not right for you if the review count is the deciding factor, which is a fair position.
On one Romanian beauty store that has run the app since spring 2026, about a fifth of March orders included the gift, and those orders averaged around $130 against about $50 for the rest (72 orders that month, converted from RON at roughly 4.6 to the dollar). One store, early numbers, and your results will vary. You can install Valotrix Cart Rewards and rebuild your best-performing rule on the Free plan before you pay for anything.
How to switch without downtime
- Install alongside. Keep BOGOS installed and running while you build. Two gift apps can coexist for a day as long as only one has live rules.
- Turn off the old app's storefront output first, not the app itself. Its admin keeps your campaign history and analytics while you compare.
- Rebuild your top three offers as drafts, preview them on the live store, then run a 24-hour overlap where the new rules are on and the old ones are off.
- Uninstall once you have watched real orders through checkout, and check the theme for leftover widget code.
The full procedure is in migrating from another gift app.
Checked on 2026-09-04
Prices, plans and features for every app on this page were read from the apps' public Shopify App Store listings on 2026-09-04. Check the listing before you decide, because apps change plans without notice. Read the one- and two-star reviews on each listing's review tab as well; they describe the edge cases a feature table cannot.
Install Valotrix Cart Rewards at apps.shopify.com/valotrix-cart-rewards. The Free plan runs one campaign with a progress bar, and paid plans have a 7-day trial.