EasyGift is listed on the Shopify App Store as EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift by 506. It has been on the store since December 2019, it carries the Built for Shopify badge, and on 2026-09-04 its listing showed 4.9 stars across 1,114 reviews. It is a good app. Most merchants who go looking for an alternative are not looking because something broke; they are looking because a plan cap, a missing feature or a pricing shape stopped fitting.
This page compares six apps against it, using each app's own public App Store listing as the source. One of the six is ours, and it is labelled as ours.
Why merchants look past EasyGift
Four reasons, all of them straight off the listing rather than out of a review:
- There is no free plan. The listing shows a 5-day free trial on all three plans and nothing at $0. If you want to run one small gift promotion indefinitely without a subscription, that is a hard stop.
- The $14.99 Standard plan says "Activate up to 3 rules at a time." A store running a spend-threshold gift, a BOGO and a VIP gift has used its three rules. The next rule is the $29.99 Unlimited plan.
- Targeting and magic links sit on the upper plans. "Target by tag, spend, history or B2B", "Geotargeting" and "Magic link rules for email" are Unlimited ($29.99) bullets. "Enter code at checkout for free gift" is on the $49.99 Enterprise plan (their plan name, not ours), which the listing marks "Only for Shopify Plus stores".
- Some things the listing does not mention. Per-market or per-currency thresholds, and any kind of preview or simulator, are not stated in the plan bullets. If you sell in several currencies, or you want to test a rule against a sample cart before it goes live, ask their support before you commit.
What EasyGift does well
Nearly seven years on the App Store, 1,114 reviews at 4.9, and the Built for Shopify badge. The $14.99 entry price is low for an app with that review base, and the Standard plan bullet says "No monthly order or revenue cap", so the bill does not move when a campaign works. The plan bullets cover auto-add or popup rewards, scheduled start and end dates, out-of-stock alerts, per-rule order analytics with CSV export, and collection and product-tag triggers on Unlimited. Annual billing saves 25%. That is a complete, mature product, and a store with one or two simple rules will be well served by it.
The six alternatives at a glance
Two tables, because thirteen columns do not fit on a phone. Prices are monthly, in USD.
Pricing
| App (developer) | Rating / reviews | Free plan | Paid from | Pricing model | Same price on Plus | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift (506) | 4.9 / 1,114 | No | $14.99 | Flat, by number of active rules; "No monthly order or revenue cap" | Prices do not vary by Shopify plan; the $49.99 plan is Plus-only | 5 days |
| BOGOS: Free Gift Bundle Upsell (BOGOS) | 5.0 / 4,339 | Yes, "30 free orders lifetime" | $29.99 | Keyed to your Shopify plan, plus monthly order caps at "$0.05 per extra" | No; Plus stores are on the $109.99 plan | 7 days |
| Kite Discount, Free Gift, BOGO (Skai Lama) | 4.9 / 1,151 | Yes, "first 50 discount orders free each month" | $29 | Flat tiers; the free tier is "$29/mo billed only if you go over 50 orders" | Prices do not vary by Shopify plan; checkout gift additions are Plus-only on Pro | 7 days |
| Monk Free Gift BOGO & Upsell (Monk Commerce) | 4.9 / 587 | Dev and sandbox stores only | $1 first month on the listing promo; monkcommerce.com/pricing shows $49 and $149 | Flat, banded by monthly order volume (0-1,000 and 1,000+) | Not stated on listing | 7 days |
| BOGO+ Free Gift & Buy X Get Y (WizzCommerce) | 4.7 / 186 | Yes, "$500 monthly revenue cap generated by app" | $17.99 | Keyed to your Shopify plan | No; the Shopify Plus tier is $77.99 | Not stated on listing |
| Koala Free Gift BOGO Upsell (ProfitKoala) | 4.9 / 379 | Dev stores only | $9.99 | Keyed to your Shopify plan | No; the Shopify Plus tier is $99.99 | 14 days |
| VLTRX Gift with Purchase BOGO (Valotrix Studio, that is us) | 5.0 / 1 | Yes: 1 campaign, 1 rule, progress bar | $24 | Flat, no order caps, no per-order fees | Yes | 7 days on paid plans |
Features
| App | Tiered rewards | Customer picks the gift | Progress bar | Per-market or per-currency thresholds | Preview or simulator | API / webhooks |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift | Not stated on listing | Yes, "auto-add the reward or show a popup" | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| BOGOS | Not stated in the plan bullets | Not stated on listing | Yes, on the Free plan | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | "Headless/Hydrogen API" on the $109.99 Plus plan |
| Kite | Yes, "tiered discounts" on the free tier | Not stated on listing | Yes, "progress bars" from $29 | "Market/cart targeting" from $29; per-currency thresholds not stated | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Monk | Yes, "tiered progress bars" | Not stated on listing | Yes | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| BOGO+ | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Yes, "Progress Bar" | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Koala | Yes, "tiered discounts" | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Valotrix Cart Rewards (ours) | Yes, from Growth | Yes, gift-choice popup on Pro | Yes, on the Free plan | Yes | Yes, simulator plus live-store preview | Yes, on Scale |
"Not stated on listing" means the app's public listing did not say either way on 2026-09-04. It is not a claim that the feature is absent. Ask the developer.
BOGOS: best if you want the widest feature set
BOGOS has been listed since December 2014 and showed 5.0 across 4,339 reviews. Its bullets go well past gifts: custom bundles, mix and match, volume discounts, frequently bought together, an announcement bar, and checkout upsell plus a Headless/Hydrogen API on the top plan. The listing shows eight languages.
The pricing shape is where it differs most from EasyGift. Plans are keyed to your Shopify plan ("Only for Shopify Basic stores", "Only for Shopify Plus stores") and each carries a monthly order allowance with "$0.05 per extra". A Basic store at 800 attributed orders pays $29.99 plus $25.00, so $54.99 that month. A Plus store at 3,000 pays $109.99 plus $50.00, so $159.99. Watch for: the Free plan is "30 free orders lifetime", not per month.
Kite: best if you also need bulk discount codes
Kite by Skai Lama listed in June 2023 and showed 4.9 across 1,151 reviews. The free tier covers the "first 50 discount orders free each month", with tiered discounts, shipping discounts, scheduling and customizable widgets included at that level. Progress bars, combined offers and up to 10K bulk codes start at $29; the $99 Pro plan adds custom discount functions, customer segment targeting and checkout gift additions marked Plus only.
Bulk discount codes for email and SMS are a genuine strength here that we do not have. Watch for: the free tier's own wording is "$29/mo billed only if you go over 50 orders", so the free plan converts to paid in the month a campaign starts performing.
Monk: best if you want gifts and upsells in one app
Monk by Monk Commerce listed in July 2021 and showed 4.9 across 587 reviews. It spans product page, cart, checkout and post-checkout, so it is a broader upsell tool than a pure gift app. Every plan is described as "All features".
On the day we checked, the listing showed a Black Friday 2026 promotion of $1 for the first month rather than a standing price, and monkcommerce.com/pricing listed $49/month for 0-1,000 total orders per month and $149/month above that. Watch for: there is no free plan outside development and sandbox stores, and the tier boundary is your whole store's order count, not the app's.
BOGO+: best if you want a low entry price with a revenue-capped free tier
BOGO+ by WizzCommerce listed in May 2022 and showed 4.7 across 186 reviews. The free plan allows "$500 monthly revenue cap generated by app" with unlimited campaign types, and paid plans start at $17.99 with free gifts, volume discounts, BOGO, Buy X Get Y, a progress bar and POS compatibility.
Watch for: plans are keyed to your Shopify plan, so a Plus store pays $77.99 for the same feature list, and the listing did not state a free-trial length.
Koala: best if you want gift offers built from templates
Koala by ProfitKoala is the newest here, listed October 2024, showing 4.9 across 379 reviews. Offers are built from templates: pop-up upsells, product add-ons, announcement bars, tiered discounts and automatic gift-add when specific items enter the cart. All four plans carry the same feature list and a 14-day trial.
Watch for: there is no free plan for live stores, and the plan you pay is decided by your Shopify plan, from $9.99 on Basic up to $99.99 on Plus.
Valotrix Cart Rewards (that is us): best if the rules need to compose
We are listed as VLTRX Gift with Purchase BOGO by Valotrix Studio SRL. Plans are Free, Growth $24, Pro $49 and Scale $99, the same price on every Shopify plan including Plus, with no order caps and no per-order fees. Annual billing saves about 17%, and paid plans have a 7-day trial.
The Free plan is a working plan rather than a demo: one campaign, one rule, cart-value conditions, the cart progress bar and the visual simulator. Growth adds tiered rewards, product conditions, free-shipping rewards and the on-site messages. Pro unlocks all 17 trigger conditions, the gift-choice popup, per-customer limits and customer and geo targeting. Scale adds A/B testing, CSV export, custom code, the public API and outbound webhooks.
Two mechanics worth knowing. Conditions combine with and, or and not, so "spend over 250 EUR in the German market and not already using a discount code" is one rule rather than three. And the gift line is your real product variant, discounted to zero at checkout by a Shopify Function, so no duplicate zero-price variants land in your catalog or your Google Shopping feed. The threshold free gift recipe walks the simplest version end to end.
Watch for: one review, listed June 2026, and no Built for Shopify badge. That is the honest trade against 1,114 reviews.
Where Valotrix Cart Rewards fits
Right for you if you want gift rules to compose rather than multiply, you sell across several currencies or markets and want a threshold per currency, you want to see a rule resolve against a sample cart before it goes live, and you want the same bill after you move to Plus.
Not right for you if you need bundles, build-a-box, post-purchase upsells or loyalty points. We do not do those, and the comparison page in our docs lists what we deliberately leave to other tools. Also not right for you if you need a thousand reviews before you will install anything, which is a completely reasonable position for a store doing serious volume in November.
On one Romanian beauty store that has run the app since spring 2026, about a fifth of March orders included the gift, and those orders averaged around $130 against about $50 for the rest (72 orders that month, converted from RON at roughly 4.6 to the dollar). One store, early numbers, and your results will vary. If that shape of result is what you are after, you can install Valotrix Cart Rewards and rebuild your top rule on the Free plan before paying anything.
How to switch without downtime
The same four steps work for any of these apps:
- Install the new app alongside the old one. Do not uninstall first. Both can sit in the theme without fighting as long as only one has a live rule.
- Rebuild your top three rules as drafts, then preview them on the live store rather than publishing straight away.
- Run a 24-hour overlap: switch the old app's rules off, switch the new ones on, and watch a handful of real orders through checkout before you trust it.
- Uninstall the old app and check your catalog for leftover zero-price variants if it used them.
The full procedure, including what to check in your theme afterwards, is in migrating from another gift app. If you want the line-by-line version of this comparison, read Valotrix Cart Rewards vs EasyGift. If you are also weighing the biggest app in the category, BOGOS alternatives covers the same ground from that side, and Kite free gift alternatives covers the metered-free-tier end of the market. For the mechanics themselves, how to set up gift with purchase on Shopify is app-agnostic.
Checked on 2026-09-04
Prices, plans and features for every app on this page were read from the apps' public Shopify App Store listings on 2026-09-04. Check the listing before you decide, because apps change plans without notice. Read the one- and two-star reviews on each listing's review tab too; they tell you more about an app's edge cases than any comparison table can.
Install Valotrix Cart Rewards at apps.shopify.com/valotrix-cart-rewards. The Free plan runs one campaign with a progress bar, and paid plans have a 7-day trial.