We are one of the two apps in this comparison, so read it that way. What we can promise is method: every EasyGift fact below was read from its public Shopify App Store listing on 2026-09-04 and is quoted or paraphrased from that listing, never from a review or a third-party roundup. Where the listing does not say, this page says the listing does not say.
EasyGift is listed as EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift by 506. We are listed as VLTRX Gift with Purchase BOGO by Valotrix Studio SRL.
Short answer
Pick EasyGift if you want the lowest entry price with a track record behind it. On 2026-09-04 its listing showed 4.9 stars across 1,114 reviews since December 2019, the Built for Shopify badge, and a $14.99 plan whose bullet says "No monthly order or revenue cap". If your promotion is one to three straightforward auto-add rules, and magic links for an influencer campaign sound useful, it is the safer install and it is cheaper.
Pick Valotrix Cart Rewards if you want a free plan that runs a real campaign, rules that combine conditions with and, or and not rather than multiplying into separate rules, a spend threshold set per currency and per market, tiers with a gift the customer chooses, a simulator to test with, and the same bill after you move to Plus. The trade is honest and it is not small: we listed in June 2026 with one review, and we do not carry the Built for Shopify badge. You would be an early customer.
Pricing, side by side
| EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift (506) | Valotrix Cart Rewards (VLTRX Gift with Purchase BOGO) | |
|---|---|---|
| Rating / reviews (2026-09-04) | 4.9 / 1,114 | 5.0 / 1 |
| Listed since | December 2019 | June 2026 |
| Free plan | No | Yes: 1 campaign, 1 rule, cart-value conditions, progress bar, simulator |
| Paid plans | Standard $14.99, Unlimited $29.99, Enterprise $49.99 (their plan name, not ours) | Growth $24, Pro $49, Scale $99 |
| Annual billing | "save 25%" | About 17% off ($240 / $490 / $990) |
| Rule or campaign caps | "Activate up to 3 rules at a time" on Standard; unlimited on Unlimited | Free: 1 campaign, 1 rule. Growth: 3 campaigns, 5 rules. Pro and Scale: unlimited |
| Pricing model | Flat, by number of active rules; "No monthly order or revenue cap" | Flat, no order caps, no per-order fees |
| Same price on Plus | Prices do not vary by Shopify plan; the $49.99 plan is marked "Only for Shopify Plus stores" | Yes, identical on every Shopify plan |
| Trial | 5 days | 7 days on paid plans |
Neither app charges per order, which is worth saying out loud because several apps in this category do. The practical difference is at the bottom and the top: EasyGift starts $9.01 cheaper than our first paid plan and has no $0 tier; we have a $0 tier and our top plan is $99 against their $49.99.
How the gift gets into the cart
EasyGift's listing describes the reward behaviour as "Auto-add the reward or show a popup", and the $49.99 plan adds "Enter code at checkout for free gift". The listing does not describe the discount mechanism it uses to make the item free, so this page does not claim one. If that detail matters to you, ask their support directly.
Ours: the gift line is your real product variant, at its real SKU, with its real image and inventory. A Shopify Function discounts that line to zero at checkout, matched against an allowlist of the gifts your live campaigns actually reference. There is no duplicate zero-price variant created in your catalog, so nothing leaks into a Google Shopping feed and nothing is left behind if you uninstall. Gifts add themselves the moment a cart qualifies and are removed when it stops qualifying.
Express checkout is the honest caveat on our side. Buy Now and Shop Pay skip the cart page entirely, and we intercept those flows so the gift still lands. It works on most stores; we do not guarantee it on every theme, and that is what our own settings page says.
Triggers and targeting
EasyGift's plan bullets list: "Trigger on cart subtotal or quantity", "Trigger on specific products" (Standard); "Trigger on collections or product tags", "Combine cart subtotal with products", "Target by tag, spend, history or B2B", "Geotargeting", "Magic link rules for email" (Unlimited).
Ours: 17 trigger conditions, including cart subtotal with an upper bound as well as a lower one, cart total, item count, specific products and variants, collection membership, line quantity, line properties, subscription selling plans, logged-in state, customer tags, market, country, and whether a discount code is present or absent. They combine with and, or and not in one rule, so "spend over 250 EUR in the German market and no discount code applied" is a single rule rather than a stack of them. The full catalogue with what each one matches is in trigger conditions. Cart-value conditions are on the Free plan, product conditions on Growth, the customer and geo ones on Pro.
Three honest gaps on our side, all of them things the EasyGift listing advertises: we have no product-tag trigger (use a collection instead), no order-count or spend-history trigger, and no magic links. If a rule that fires only for visitors arriving through a special URL is the point of the exercise, that is EasyGift's feature and not ours.
Tiers, gift choice and on-site messages
EasyGift's listing states "Auto-add the reward or show a popup", which is the customer-chooses-the-gift surface. Tiered rewards are not stated in the plan bullets we read, so this page will not assert either way.
Ours: tiered rewards start on Growth, cumulative or replacing at each tier, with more than one gift allowed per tier. The gift-choice popup, where the customer picks from a curated list, is on Pro. On-site messaging comes in five formats (toast, promo popup, progress bar, gift-choice modal and reminder) plus seven Custom Block types you can place in the theme, on the product page, in the cart or on a collection. The progress bar and one Custom Block are on the Free plan; the rest of the messaging starts on Growth. If tiers are what you are here for, Shopify Buy X Get Y explained covers where the native discount stops and a gift app starts.
Markets and currencies
EasyGift's listing states "Geotargeting" on the Unlimited plan. Thresholds per currency or per market are not stated on the listing.
Ours: a spend threshold can hold a different value per currency and per market on the same rule, so 75 USD, 70 EUR and 350 RON are three values on one condition rather than one number converted at checkout. A market override wins over a currency value, which wins over the base value, and a cart in a currency you have not set a value for does not silently qualify. The precedence rules and what happens to a currency you have not configured are written out in multi-currency and markets.
Testing before you go live
EasyGift's listing does not mention a preview or test surface in its plan bullets. Their knowledge base is the place to check.
Ours: two things. A visual simulator where you build a sample cart and watch the rule resolve, condition by condition, with a plain-English reason for anything that failed; it is on the Free plan. And a preview on your live store, where a draft campaign renders for you and nobody else, before it is published. The procedure is in previewing on your store.
What each app leaves out
EasyGift, from its own listing: no free plan; a 5-day trial; three active rules on the $14.99 plan; checkout code entry restricted to the $49.99 plan and "Only for Shopify Plus stores"; and no statement either way on tiers, progress bars, per-currency thresholds, a simulator, or an API.
Valotrix Cart Rewards: no bundles, no build-a-box, no volume discounts, no post-purchase upsells, no loyalty points, no bulk discount code generation, no magic links, no product-tag or order-count triggers. One review and a June 2026 listing date. We do not carry the Built for Shopify badge. The full list of what we deliberately leave to other tools is on the how we compare page in our docs.
Where Valotrix Cart Rewards fits
The clean version: if the rule you want to write is one condition and a gift, EasyGift will do it for less money and with a decade of merchants behind it. If the rule you want to write is three conditions with an or in the middle, a different threshold in each currency, two tiers and a gift the customer picks, that is what we built, and the Free plan lets you build a working version of it before you spend anything.
On one Romanian beauty store that has run the app since spring 2026, about a fifth of March orders included the gift, and those orders averaged around $130 against about $50 for the rest (72 orders that month, converted from RON at roughly 4.6 to the dollar). One store, early numbers, and your results will vary. If you want to see the same shape on your own catalog, install Valotrix Cart Rewards and build the rule in the simulator first.
Still narrowing the field? EasyGift alternatives puts six apps in one table, BOGOS alternatives covers the order-capped end of the market, and Kite free gift alternatives covers the metered-free-tier end.
Checked on 2026-09-04
Prices, plans and features for every app on this page were read from the apps' public Shopify App Store listings on 2026-09-04. Check the listing before you decide, because apps change plans without notice. Read the one- and two-star reviews on both listings' review tabs; ours has one review in total, which is its own kind of information.
Install Valotrix Cart Rewards at apps.shopify.com/valotrix-cart-rewards. The Free plan runs one campaign with a progress bar, and paid plans have a 7-day trial.