Kite Discount, Free Gift, BOGO by Skai Lama is one of the newer apps in this category to reach four figures of reviews. On 2026-09-04 its Shopify App Store listing showed 4.9 stars across 1,151 reviews, the Built for Shopify badge, and a listing date of June 2023.
Most people arrive at an alternatives page for Kite from its free tier, so let us start there. Every fact below was read from each app's own public listing on 2026-09-04, and one of the six apps compared is ours.
Why merchants look past Kite
The free tier is metered, and the meter is the campaign. The Free plan bullet reads: "First 50 discount orders free each month. $29/mo billed only if you go over 50 orders". That is a fair and clearly stated deal, but it means the free plan stops being free in the first month the promotion does its job. If you were planning to run a permanent small gift offer at no cost, budget for $29.
Some targeting sits two tiers up. Logged-in customer targeting and campaign links are Growth ($49) bullets. Customer segment targeting, custom widgets, custom discount functions and priority support are Pro ($99) bullets. If customer targeting is the reason you want a gift app, the entry price is not $29.
Checkout gifts are Plus only. The Pro plan lists "checkout gift additions (Plus only)". Nothing wrong with that, it is a Shopify surface constraint as much as an app one, but it is worth knowing before you plan a checkout-page offer.
It is a discounts app that does gifts. Bulk codes, shipping discounts, volume discounts and Buy X Get Y are all first-class here. If you only want "spend 75, get the sample kit", there is more product than you need.
What Kite does well
Three years to 1,151 reviews at 4.9 with the Built for Shopify badge is a fast, healthy trajectory. The free tier is unusually complete for this category: free gift offers, Buy X Get Y, tiered discounts, shipping discounts, customizable widgets, scheduling and combined discount types are all listed at $0 up to the 50-order mark. Progress bars, combined offers, market and cart targeting, multi-language support and up to 10K bulk discount codes start at $29; 100K codes, multiple rules per offer and campaign links at $49.
Bulk discount code generation for email and SMS is a real strength, and it is one we do not have at all. If your promotion plan runs through Klaviyo with unique codes per recipient, Kite is doing something the apps below mostly are not.
The six alternatives at a glance
Two tables. All prices are monthly, in USD.
Pricing
| App (developer) | Rating / reviews | Free plan | Paid from | Pricing model | Same price on Plus | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kite Discount, Free Gift, BOGO (Skai Lama) | 4.9 / 1,151 | Yes, "first 50 discount orders free each month" | $29 | Flat tiers; the free tier is "$29/mo billed only if you go over 50 orders" | Prices do not vary by Shopify plan; checkout gift additions are Plus-only on Pro | 7 days |
| BOGOS: Free Gift Bundle Upsell (BOGOS) | 5.0 / 4,339 | Yes, "30 free orders lifetime" | $29.99 | Keyed to your Shopify plan, plus monthly order caps at "$0.05 per extra" | No; Plus stores are on the $109.99 plan | 7 days |
| EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift (506) | 4.9 / 1,114 | No | $14.99 | Flat, by number of active rules; "No monthly order or revenue cap" | Prices do not vary by Shopify plan; the $49.99 plan is Plus-only | 5 days |
| Monk Free Gift BOGO & Upsell (Monk Commerce) | 4.9 / 587 | Dev and sandbox stores only | $1 first month on the listing promo; monkcommerce.com/pricing shows $49 and $149 | Flat, banded by monthly order volume (0-1,000 and 1,000+) | Not stated on listing | 7 days |
| Koala Free Gift BOGO Upsell (ProfitKoala) | 4.9 / 379 | Dev stores only | $9.99 | Keyed to your Shopify plan | No; the Shopify Plus tier is $99.99 | 14 days |
| TL: Free Gifts BOGO & Upsell (Tek Labs) | 4.9 / 471 | Yes; a Free plan is the single plan listed | No paid tier shown on the listing | Free plan only, as listed | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| VLTRX Gift with Purchase BOGO (Valotrix Studio, that is us) | 5.0 / 1 | Yes: 1 campaign, 1 rule, progress bar | $24 | Flat, no order caps, no per-order fees | Yes | 7 days on paid plans |
Features
| App | Tiered rewards | Customer picks the gift | Progress bar | Per-market or per-currency thresholds | Preview or simulator | API / webhooks |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kite | Yes, "tiered discounts" on the free tier | Not stated on listing | Yes, "progress bars" from $29 | "Market/cart targeting" from $29; per-currency thresholds not stated | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| BOGOS | Not stated in the plan bullets | Not stated on listing | Yes, on the Free plan | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | "Headless/Hydrogen API" on the $109.99 Plus plan |
| EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift | Not stated on listing | Yes, "auto-add the reward or show a popup" | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Monk | Yes, "tiered progress bars" | Not stated on listing | Yes | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Koala | Yes, "tiered discounts" | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| TL: Free Gifts | Yes, "multi-tier gift rewards" | Not stated on listing | Yes, "cart upsell progress bars" | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Valotrix Cart Rewards (ours) | Yes, from Growth | Yes, gift-choice popup on Pro | Yes, on the Free plan | Yes | Yes, simulator plus live-store preview | Yes, on Scale |
"Not stated on listing" means the public listing did not say either way on 2026-09-04. Treat those cells as questions for the developer, not as absences.
BOGOS: best if you want the widest feature set
BOGOS showed 5.0 across 4,339 reviews and a December 2014 listing date. Bundles, mix and match, volume discounts, frequently bought together, a progress bar and an announcement bar are all on the Free plan; paid plans add an AI assistant, a bundle builder, POS support and multiplier gifts, and the Plus plan adds checkout upsell and a Headless/Hydrogen API.
Watch for: plans are keyed to your Shopify plan and each carries a monthly order allowance with "$0.05 per extra", so the bill moves with volume. BOGOS alternatives does that arithmetic at 500, 1,000 and 3,000 orders.
EasyGift: best if you want the lowest entry price and a hard cap on the bill
EG Auto Add to Cart Free Gift by 506 showed 4.9 across 1,114 reviews and a December 2019 listing date. Standard at $14.99 covers cart subtotal and quantity triggers, specific-product triggers, auto-add or popup rewards, scheduling, out-of-stock alerts and per-rule analytics with CSV export, and the plan bullet says "No monthly order or revenue cap". Unlimited at $29.99 adds collection and product-tag triggers, combined triggers, targeting "by tag, spend, history or B2B", geotargeting and magic-link rules.
Watch for: no free plan, a 5-day trial, and "Activate up to 3 rules at a time" on Standard. Detail in EasyGift alternatives.
Monk: best if you want the whole buying journey in one app
Monk by Monk Commerce showed 4.9 across 587 reviews and a July 2021 listing date. Offers run from product page to cart to checkout to post-checkout, and both tiers are described as "All features", including cart progress bars with tiers.
On the day we checked the listing showed a Black Friday 2026 promotion of $1 for the first month; monkcommerce.com/pricing showed $49/month for 0-1,000 total orders per month and $149/month above that. Watch for: no free plan outside development and sandbox stores, and the band counts your store's total orders.
Koala: best if you want template-driven offers
Koala Free Gift BOGO Upsell by ProfitKoala listed in October 2024 and showed 4.9 across 379 reviews. Offers are built from templates: pop-up upsells, product add-ons, announcement bars, custom rules, BOGO and Buy X Get Y, tiered discounts and conversion analytics, with automatic gift-add when specific items enter the cart. All four plans carry the same feature list and a 14-day trial.
Watch for: no free plan for live stores, and the price is set by your Shopify plan, from $9.99 up to $99.99 on Plus.
TL: Free Gifts: best if you want to start at zero
TL: Free Gifts BOGO & Upsell by Tek Labs listed in December 2023 and showed 4.9 across 471 reviews with the Built for Shopify badge. On the day we checked, a Free plan was the single plan shown on the listing, covering BOGO, Buy X Get Y, free gift with purchase, classic bundles, volume discounts, frequently bought together, customizable storefront widgets and real-time analytics, plus cart upsell progress bars with multi-tier gift rewards.
Watch for: a listing that shows one free plan and no paid tier tells you very little about what happens at volume. Ask the developer what the plan looks like as you grow before you build your BFCM promotion on it.
Valotrix Cart Rewards (that is us): best if the targeting and the currencies matter
We are listed as VLTRX Gift with Purchase BOGO by Valotrix Studio SRL. Plans are Free, Growth $24, Pro $49 and Scale $99, the same price on every Shopify plan including Plus, with no order caps and no per-order fees. Annual billing saves about 17%, and paid plans carry a 7-day trial.
Two differences from Kite are worth naming precisely.
Targeting sits a tier lower. Customer tags, country and market targeting, per-customer limits and the gift-choice popup are Pro features at $49, along with all 17 trigger conditions. What each of those targeting options actually does is written up in customer and geo targeting.
Thresholds are per currency and per market. You can set "spend 75" in USD, "spend 70" in EUR and "spend 350" in RON on one rule, rather than one number converted at checkout time, and a market can override the currency value. The rules for which value wins are in multi-currency and markets.
The rest, briefly: gifts add themselves when the cart qualifies and are removed when it stops qualifying; the gift line is your real product variant discounted to zero at checkout by a Shopify Function, so there are no duplicate zero-price variants in your catalog; the visual simulator plus a preview on the live store lets you watch a rule resolve before anyone sees it; campaigns can be scheduled and auto-disable when the gift goes out of stock. The progress bar runs on the Free plan, and cart goal progress bars on Shopify covers how to write one that actually moves carts.
Watch for: one review, a June 2026 listing date, and no Built for Shopify badge.
Where Valotrix Cart Rewards fits
Right for you if you want customer and geo targeting without a $99 plan, if you sell in more than one currency and want a real threshold in each, and if you want to test a rule against a sample cart before it goes live.
Not right for you if you need bulk discount codes for email and SMS. We do not generate codes in bulk, and we do not do volume discounts, bundles, post-purchase upsells or loyalty points. If codes are the requirement, Kite or a dedicated discount app is the correct answer and we would rather say so here than after you install. The comparison page in our docs lists the rest of what we deliberately leave alone.
On one Romanian beauty store that has run the app since spring 2026, about a fifth of March orders included the gift, and those orders averaged around $130 against about $50 for the rest (72 orders that month, converted from RON at roughly 4.6 to the dollar). One store, early numbers, and your results will vary. You can install Valotrix Cart Rewards and rebuild your current offer on the Free plan first.
How to switch without downtime
- Install the new app alongside the old one and leave the old rules running.
- Rebuild your top three offers as drafts, then preview them on the live store rather than publishing blind.
- Run a 24-hour overlap: old rules off, new rules on, and watch real orders through checkout.
- Uninstall the old app and check the theme for leftover widget code.
The full version, including what to check in the theme afterwards, is in migrating from another gift app. If you want the head-to-head format instead, Valotrix Cart Rewards vs EasyGift is written that way.
Checked on 2026-09-04
Prices, plans and features for every app on this page were read from the apps' public Shopify App Store listings on 2026-09-04. Check the listing before you decide, because apps change plans without notice. Read the one- and two-star reviews on each listing's review tab as well.
Install Valotrix Cart Rewards at apps.shopify.com/valotrix-cart-rewards. The Free plan runs one campaign with a progress bar, and paid plans have a 7-day trial.